SAVE OUR SCHOOL

VINTON FIGHTS TO SAVE THE
IOWA BRAILLE AND SIGHT SAVING SCHOOL



Cedar Valley Times, Wednesday November 13, 1985.
No Braille school move without legislative discussion


Cedar Valley Times, Friday November 15, 1985.
Effort underway to keep Braille school here


Cedar Rapids Gazette, Saturday, November 16, 1985.
BRAILLE SCHOOL MAY GIVE WAY TO PRISON


Cedar Valley Times, Tuesday, November 19, 1985.
In fight for students, Vinton Unlimited prepares position paper.


Cedar Rapids Gazette. Thursday, November 21, 1985.
Vinton forces rally to keep blind school in community


Cedar Rapids Gazette. Friday, November 22, 1985.
Lawmaker pushes Mitchellville as drunken driving prison site


Cedar Valley Times, Friday, November 22, 1985.
Regents executive Richey named as author of “politically motivated” proposition
Council Joins fight against Braille school move


Cedar Valley Times, Friday, November 22, 1985.
Education of students is paramount concern


Cedar Rapids Gazette, Saturday, November 23, 1985.
Vinton council voices strong Opposition to moving school


Cedar Valley Times, Monday, November 25, 1985.
Vinton Unlimited directors tour Braille school


Cedar Velley times, Tuesday, November 26, 1985.
County supports Governor measure against school move


Cedar Valley Times, Tuesday, November 26, 1985.
Governor Invited to public meeting next Monday


Cedar Valley Times, Monday, December 2, 1985.
Key official to attend as committee prepares fight


Cedar Valley Times, Monday, December 2, 1985.
Citizens urged to attend, input key


Cedar Valley Times, Tuesday, December 3, 1985.
Community condemns Braille school move.
Branstad blasted for political posturing.


Cedar Valley Times, Wednesday, December 4, 1985.
Citizens speak in one voice; concern is for the children


Cedar Valley Times, Wednesday, December 4, 1985.
Dr. Anthony questions cost savings of school move.


Cedar Valley Times, Thursday December 5, 1985.
Delegation prepares for meeting with Gov. Branstad


Cedar Valley times, Tuesday December 10, 1985
Legislative study: no separate facility for drunk drivers
Fight for Braille school wins state decision, but battle not over


Cedar Valley Times, Monday December 16, 1985.
DeMott comes out against report's findings, says he's being pressured by regents’ staff.
IBSSS boss told to keep opinions to himself.


Cedar Valley Times, Monday December 16, 1985.
Merger feasible by 1987 says report by task force


Cedar Valley Times, Tuesday December 17, 1985.
Says task force report "tailored" to governor's cost-savings estimate,
S.O.S. gets mad; takes case against merger to regents


Cedar Valley Times, Thursday December 19, 1985.
Regents want more facts on merger; Anthony, DeMott make emotional appeals


Cedar Velley Times, Friday December 20, 1985.
Rep. Hummel upset with regents; backs Anthony's presentation


Cedar Valley Times, Monday, December 23, 1985.
Anderson stumps for Braille school in visit